Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Denver Library plans cuts, Byers branch closing

Thanks to the Rocky Mountain Independent for this story: The Denver Public Library's (DPL) historic Byers branch may be closed as part of 2010 budget cuts. (Photo courtesy of the Denver Public Library, Western History Collection)

DPL will save an estimated $604,000 by shuttering this branch. The Byers branch, which was named after Rocky Mountain News founder William N. Byers, was one of nine Denver libraries built between 1913 and 1920 using funds from philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. Built in 1918, the Byers branch has been designated a historic landmark by the Denver Landmark Preservation Commission.

Only five of the Carnegie libraries in Denver remain in use: Byers, Smiley, Decker, Woodbury and Park Hill. The original Central Library building, located in Civic Center, is being used by the city and county of Denver. [Read the entire story from the Rocky Mountain Independent by CLICKING HERE)

No comments: