The Hubbard Free Library is housed in the oldest library building in Maine still serving its original function. Designed by local architect Alexander C. Currier to look like an English country church, the library was dedicated in March, 1880, as the Hallowell Social Library. In 1893 General Thomas H. Hubbard of New York City, a Hallowell native, donated $20,000 for the construction of a free library. The money was used to build an addition to the existent building, in the form of a cross-axial transept, in keeping with the original church design, and the library became the Hubbard Free Library. A second addition was added in 1897, with money donated by Mrs. Eliza Lowell of Hallowell.
On the National Register of Historic Places since 1970, with an impressive collection of historic artifacts and archival materials, the library today is also a vibrant and much-cherished participant in the life of the communities it serves. [SOURCE]